SugarSync Adds Multi-user Sync Capability For Instant File Sharing



sugarsync SugarSync Adds Multi user Sync Capability For Instant File Sharing



SugarSync has just announced a new feature that will allow users to instantly sync folders and files between each other. This multi-user sync capability allows for folders shared among an assigned group to be immediately synced between all parties. So that as soon as shared files are updated by a user, each member of the group will find the most up-to-date files on their computer. Also, unlike most other solutions out there, the storage used in a shared folder will only count towards the folder owner’s SugarSync account. This means that recipients of shared folders can join those folders without having to worry about using up their own storage.

SugarSync has many other fine-grained controls that add to the flexibility of multi-user syncing, including:

Share any folder – A user can share any folder in their directory structure, such as a folder within “Documents” or “Pictures.” With SugarSync, users have always had the flexibility to backup any folder on their computer; the new sharing functionality also allows sharing of any folder on the user’s computer. There’s no need to move your folders into a separate folder to enable syncing and sharing.

Flexible file structure for different sharing groups – A user can maintain his/her file structure with the ability to share folders and sub-folders with different groups of people. For example, a user can share a high level folder with co-workers and a subfolder with an external client.

Password protection – When sharing sensitive or confidential data, passwords can add an extra layer of security.

Cloud-only shared folders – Cloud-only hosting of shared files frees up space on a user’s computer.

“Read-only” permissions – Setting a folder as “read only” is useful when a user wants to share a folder, but doesn’t want the group to be able change the contents of the shared files.

Stored previous versions – SugarSync stores up to five past versions of every file allowing users to revert to a previous version should someone make a mistake or corrupt the file.