HP and Titan Launch JUXT, a Fancy New Luxury Smartwatch, in India

HP is introducing an intriguing new wearable this week in partnership with luxury watchmaker Titan. JUXT takes the minimalist approach to smartwatch functionality, using just a small rectangular OLED display over a traditional analog watch face to display notifications and reminders. The result is a luxury watch that keeps its smarts under wraps, making it one of the more fashionable choices on the market.

Actually, it might be better not to think of JUXT as a smartwatch at all. It’s more of a luxury watch with smart features included as a bonus, and that might hit the sweet spot for members of the business class who aren’t as heavily invested in mobile technology. The watch face comes in either stainless steel (natural or rose gold finish) or titanium, with a honeycomb-like design on the edges of the case. That’s paired with genuine calf leather on the strap, which comes in different colors and patterns depending on the watch case chosen. Inside, there’s a Titan caliber 6130 analog timepiece with a small, rectangular OLED overlay that covers about a fifth or so of the face. The juxtaposition (hence the name?) of the two is a bit jarring, but combining analog tech with digital smartwatch features was never going to be easy.


JUXT works with both iOS and Android phones over a Bluetooth connection. That black-and-white OLED display can show recent text messages, reminders, and notifications, along with incoming calls. The watch also has fitness tracking sensors, so you can use it with existing fitness tracking apps — an interesting choice, considering how unlikely it is that anyone’s going to go running with this watch. Like most smartwatches, JUXT will vibrate when a new notification comes in.

HP and Titan are launching preorders for JUXT in India for Rs 16,000 (stainless steel), Rs 18,000 (stainless steel with rose gold finish), and Rs 20,000 (titanium). That said, it looks like international shipping is possible for those in the United States, Australia, Singapore, the United Kingdom, and the United Arab Emirates.